top of page

Taking Stock

Pros and Cons of your past, present and future.



In my life, I've noticed that we are forever changing - growth is good. But with societal pressures, I think that most of us are too busy trying to measure up to expectations that aren't meant for us. If the intention of our creation was to be like everyone else, we'd have been made that way. Our happiest life is served by looking inside and being the best us.


Step #1 - Strengths


We all have things we like about ourselves; our personalities, values - you name it. I would like to encourage everyone to make an actual list of the things you like about who you are, aka your strengths.


My List

Sense of humor

Compassionate

Realistic

Loyal

Honest

Advocate


Step #2 - Weaknesses


Equally, we all have things we don't like about ourselves. This has nothing to do with what others think or how we think we should be like someone else. It's the things we do that undermine our own happiness. I would like to encourage everyone to make an actual list of the things that you feel are your weakness.


My List

Too forgiving

Internalize emotions

Prioritize others over myself

Easily distracted from my focus


Step #3 - Goals


You can make your lists as long or short as you like; brief or detailed. Keep these lists in a journal, notebook or on your computer because they will and should always be changing. Times when you are feeling unfulfilled; lost, confused, overwhelmed - those are good times to return to your lists and review them; make updates and changes.


Your third list is about what things in your life you want to change, accomplish or experience. Sometimes we don't like our job; our attitude; our love-life - or just feel incomplete. If we know who we are and aren't then identify who we want to be, we have the facts needed to find our own path in life.


My Goals

To figure out what things I like to do - then get out and do them.

Improve my home environment to accommodate me

Experience things outside my comfort zone.


Make a Plan


Once you see the information in writing, it's easier to actually see the challenges of your goals. These are the things we are forced to work around. Myself, I've always been lazy about cooking, which tended to lead to quick food fixes, high in carbs, fats, calories. So instead of trying to spend weekends preparing foods and dividing them, I buy already cooked chicken strips, seafood; microwaveable cups of rice and potatoes so that throwing together a lunch only takes a few minutes but my choices are only healthy. It's a little more money but I would rather give up cable television and stick with streaming free shows than to eat cheap and unhealthy.


In other words, you can't change your weaknesses so much as make adjustments in the positive and strengths you carry to compensate for them. It's up to YOU to go after the life you want and only you can figure out what that is and how you want to get there. But remember - life is a journey, experience it. We all have the same destination and I'm in no rush to get there - just looking for the wind in my hair and a rush in my heart.



8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page